Welcome to the website of the Judicial Appointments Advisory Board

The Judicial Appointments Advisory Board (hereafter "the Board") was established pursuant to the Courts and Court Officers Act, 1995, as amended.  The purpose of the Board is to identify persons and inform the Government of the suitability of those persons for appointment to judicial office.


Board Members

The Board consists of:

  • The Hon. Mrs. Justice Susan Denham, Chief Justice (Chairperson)
  • The Hon. Mr. Justice Sean Ryan, President of the Court of Appeal
  • The Hon. Mr. Justice Nicholas Kearns, President of the High Court
  • The Hon. Mr. Justice Raymond Groarke, President of the Circuit Court
  • Her Honour Judge Rosemary Horgan, President of the District Court
  • Ms. Máire Whelan SC, Attorney General
  • Mr. David Barniville SC, Chairman of the Bar Council
  • Mr. John Shaw, Nominee of the Law Society
  • Dr. Simon Boucher
  • Ms. Karen Dent
  • Mr. Brendan Ryan BL (Secretary to the Board)

A person appointed to be a member of the Board by virtue of a nomination by the Chairman of the Bar Council or by the President of the Law Society and persons appointed by the Minister are members of the Board for a period not exceeding three years and any such persons so appointed shall be eligible for re-appointment to the Board.